Serving Tulsa County, Creek County, Craig County, McIntosh County, Mayes County, Muskogee County, Okmulgee County, Osage County, Pawnee County, Payne County, Rogers County, Wagoner County, and Washington County.
This web site is designed for general information only. The information presented at this site should not be construed as formal legal advice or the formation of an attorney/client relationship.

The law of homicide has the most complex degree (grading) system of any area in criminal law. Homicide is the most serious charge that a person can face in Oklahoma. If you or your loved one has been charged with or feel you may be charged with this crime, an aggressive and skilled Oklahoma criminal homicide lawyer will be your best defense. The State will have their most senior attorneys and the full power of the Attorney’s Office behind them. The police and prosecution have one agenda: find the quickest manner to convict you. We understand the approach of the State, and will utilize every available resource to combat the State’s case against you or your loved one. A Oklahoma based criminal defense lawyer who is knowledgeable and aggressive in the protection of your rights could be the only defense you have for your freedom and your future when combating homicide charges.

If you are in need of an aggressive criminal defense attorney contact us for a free consultation.

Homicide is the killing of one human being by another.

Homicide is either:

Negligent Homicide
Excusable Homicide
Justifiable Homicide

Negligent Homicide Charge:

When the death of any person ensues within one (1) year as a proximate result of injury received by the driving of any vehicle by any person sixteen (16) years of age or older in reckless disregard of the safety of others, the person so operating such vehicle shall be guilty of negligent homicide.


Any person convicted of negligent homicide shall be punished by imprisonment in the county jail for not more than one (1) year or by fine of not less than One Hundred Dollars ($100.00) nor more than One Thousand Dollars ($1,000.00), or by both such fine and imprisonment. The Commissioner of Public Safety shall revoke the license or permit to drive and any nonresident operating privilege of any person convicted of negligent homicide.

Excusable Homicide Charge:

1. When committed by accident and misfortune in doing any lawful act, by lawful means, with usual and ordinary caution, and without any unlawful intent.

2. When committed by accident and misfortune in the heat of passion, upon any sudden and sufficient provocation, or upon a sudden combat provided that no undue advantage is taken, nor any dangerous weapon used, and that the killing is not done in a cruel or unusual manner.

Justifiable Homicide Charge:

1. When resisting any attempt to murder such person, or to commit any felony upon him, or upon or in any dwelling house in which such person is; or,

2. When committed in the lawful defense of such person, or of his or her husband, wife, parent, child, master, mistress, or servant, when there is a reasonable ground to apprehend a design to commit a felony, or to do some great personal injury, and imminent danger of such design being accomplished; or,

3. When necessarily committed in attempting, by lawful ways and means, to apprehend any person for any felony committed; or in lawfully suppressing any riot; or in lawfully keeping and preserving the peace.

If you are facing homicide charges in Oklahoma, you cannot afford to put you future in the hands of anyone other than a skilled criminal defense attorney with trial experience. Contact us at out Tulsa office at 918-587-8700 to see what we can do to help you.

Contact Us Now
For a free
email me

Adams Law Office PLLC
525 S Main Ste 525
Tulsa, Oklahoma 74103